Me, Fangirling and My Current Book Stack

I don’t usually get giddy over talking to or seeing famous people. Note, I said “not usually”, which means that there are some exceptional moments when I actually do get giddy and happy and cheery and whatever one may and should feel when someone you admire actually ACTUALLY replies to you.

I’ve just paid off the month’s bills and it goes to say that money’s a bit tight right now so I had to make some necessary cuts. I usually buy two, three books every pay day but this cut off I can only buy one, and I hate having to choose between books. It feels so much like a betrayal. I swear, if I become rich, I will buy one branch of my favorite bookstore. I will live there and I will turn it into a library of some sorts for those people who don’t have enough to buy new books.

It was a battle between Gayle Forman‘s If I Stay and Libba Bray‘s The Diviners. In the end, Libba Bray’s novel won out because it was the only copy left in the book store.

Then I tweeted this after I got the book:

1lib

I sent out that tweet without expecting any replies back, so I really went all giddy when I received this:

2lib

Talk about fangirling!!! Yes, I am. Gadh! That’s Libba Bray! I’m just so happy and surprised she even saw my tweet. (Please excuse me for fangirling again.)

I still have a few books to read before I can get to The Diviners. Here’s my reading stack right now:

IMG00243-20130720-0645

I have a couple of things coming up within the next two weeks. A couple of reviews for Debra Driza‘s debut Mila 2.0 and Neil Gaiman‘s (gasp) newest release in six years, The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I may also finish the thing I’m writing about David Levithan‘s Every Day.

Well, that’s all for now. I hope you guys are doing great wherever you are. Happy reading!

XOXO

Rachel